top of page

Formula for the BEST Salad


OK, so it's the new year and you made a resolution to eat cleaner. Chances are, you would like to eat more veggies. The best way to do that is to eat salads. People tend to dislike salads because they think they're boring and sad, but if you do them right, they're anything but depressing. To start, choose your leafy greens. I think the best salads include something with a crunch like romaine. I like using romaine, spinach, arugula, and red cabbage. Red cabbage adds a really great color to the salad and crunch that I really enjoy. I think the crunch of the romaine and red cabbage, the distinct flavor of the spinach, and the pepperiness of the arugula go great together! Next, add seasonal veggies. Staples for me include tomatoes (I alternate between on the vine, grape, or cherry. It just depends on what I have), cucumber, carrots, corn, roasted veggies (sweet potato, zucchini, fingerling potatoes, and bell peppers), artichoke hearts, and hearts of palm . To bulk up the salad a little, add healthy fats like avocado, tofu, and beans. This really adds a delicious creamy aspect. To dress the salad, I opt for apple cider vinegar, salt, and pepper, but you can add whatever dressing you want. Sometimes, I choose a vinaigrette instead. So now you have it, the best salad EVER!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page